Offshore petroleum regulators who are established under national legislation, capable of independent decision-making and committed to active participation in IOPER meetings and projects may apply for membership.


Further information on eligibility criteria and how to make an application is outlined in the IOPER Terms of Reference.

The current IOPER members are:

Australia [PDF, 178 KB]

National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority (NOPSEMA)

Contact: [email protected]

Brazil [PDF, 367 KB]


Brazilian National Agency of Petroleum, Natural Gas and Biofuels (ANP)

Contact: [email protected]

Canada [PDF, 108 KB]

Canada-Newfoundland/Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board (C-NLOPB) 

Contact: [email protected]

Canada Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board (CNSOPB)

Contact: [email protected]


DCENR (Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources

Israel [PDF, 593 KB]

Ministry of Energy (MoE), Natural Recourses Administration (NRA)

Contact: [email protected]

Ministry of Environmental Protection (MoEP), Marine Environment Protection Division (MEPD)

Contact: [email protected]  

Guyana [DOCX, 21 KB]

The Environmental Protection Agency

Contact: [email protected] 

Mexico [PDF, 79 KB]

National Agency for Safety, Energy and Environment of Mexico (ASEA)

Contact: [email protected]       

Netherlands [PDF, 200 KB]


State Supervision of Mines (SSM)

Contact: [email protected]

New Zealand [DOCX, 21 KB]

Environment Protection Authority

Contact: [email protected] 

Norway [PDF, 74 KB]


Norwegian Environment Agency

Contact: [email protected]

Suriname [PDF, 179 KB]

National Institute for Environment and Development in Suriname (NIMOS)

Contact: [email protected] 

United Kingdom [PDF, 143 KB]

Offshore Petroleum Regulator for Environment and Decommissioning (OPRED)

Contact: [email protected]

United States [PDF, 136 KB]


Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)

Contact: [email protected] or [email protected]

Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE)

Contact: [email protected]